"Officer Phil's" KUSI Trivia July 2007 Questions and Answers Page

Click Here To Return to My Main KUSI Page

Here are the questions and the answers to the trivia questions I do each day on "Good Morning San Diego" on KUSI (51/9). The most recent questions are listed at the top of the page. The answers are at the bottom of the page.

To make a guess, just put your cursor over the correct letter. If you have guessed correctly, the letter will become a check mark . If you have guessed incorrectly, you will see a minus sign . On a few questions, the correct answer is "All of the above." In that case you will see .

You can also scroll to the bottom of the page where all of the answers are listed, often with a more detailed explanation. Clicking on an answer will take you directly to the more detailed answers at the bottom of the page.

Enjoy!

December 2007
November 2007
October 2007
September 2007
August 2007
July 2007
June 2007
May 2007
April 2007
March 2007
February 2007
January 2007

December 2006

Undated



July
Date & Question:
Choices
July 31, 2007:

When was the first electric, 3-color, traffic signal first used?
: 1900
: 1910
: 1920
: 1930
July 30, 2007:

When you breakdown on the freeway, which one of these things are you required to do?
: Turn off your engine
: Turn on your emergency lights
: Lock your car, if you leave
: There are no legal requirement
July 27, 2007:

How long will your driving privilege be suspended for not taking the chemical test when arrested for DUI?
: 4 months
: 6 months
: 12 months
: 18 months
July 26, 2007:

Most of us have seen those jacked-up trucks whose headlight shine right in our eyes. How high can headlights legally be above the ground?
: 36 inches
: 42 inches
: 48 inches
: 54 inches
July 25, 2007:

Some law enforcement agencies have stopped using 10-code phrases like 10-4. Why?
: More than one 10-code causes confusion
: Too hard to remember all of them
: It never really helped much
: Trick question, no one has dropped it
July 24, 2007:

It is legal to make a U-turn on a residential street as long as all other vehicles are how far away?
: 100 feet
: 200 feet
: 300 feet
: 500 feet
July 23, 2007:

Riding a bicycle at night requires a headlight. To be legal, the headlight has to be bright enough to be seen from how far away?
: 50 feet
: 100 feet
: 300 feet
: 500 feet
July 20, 2007:

How long can someone between 16 & 18 drive in California with an out-of-state license?
: Same as adults
: 30 days
: 10 days
: The cannot legally drive in California
July 19, 2007:

Where does California rank among all states in the percentage of licensed drivers?
: #1
: #4
: #6
: #46
July 17, 2007:

What is the legal status of Walk - Don't Walk signs at intersections?
: Only advisory as to when walking is protected
: Applies to pedestrians the same as signals apply to vehicles
July 16, 2007:

We have all seen the clear covers people put over their license plates. When is this legal?
: Never
: If the entire plate is visible
: If non-reflective material is used
: Only on Rod Luck's car
July 13, 2007:

You are one a narrow mountain road and another vehicle approaches you head on. Who has to backup, the vehicle going uphill, or downhill?
: The vehicle going uphill must back up
: The vehicle going downhill must back up
July 12, 2007:

Do military personnel transfered into California need to register their vehicles in California?
: Yes
: No
July 11, 2007:

How long do you have to report to the DMV that you have moved?
: 5
: 10
: 20
: 30 days, if you have a post office forwarding notice
July 10, 2007:

In most circumstances, you can legally turn right on a red light at an intersection. Can you ever turn left on a red light?
: Never
: Only if a sign OKs it
: From a one-way to a one-way street
: Only in Palo Alto
July 9, 2007:

Most people know that small children have to wear helmets when riding a bicycle. How how do you have to be before you can cycle without a helmet?
: 6
: 12
: 15
: 18
July 6, 2007:

When is it legal to drive with just your parking lights on?
: Never
: From 30 minutes before to 30 minutes after sunset
: During daylight hours
: In the fog
July 5, 2007:

For minor traffic offenses, you get 1 point against your driving record. For major offenses, you get 2 points. How many points does it take to lose your license?
: 4 points within 12 months
: 6 points within 24 months
: 8 points within 36 months
July 3, 2007:

A new driver between 16 & 18 years old cannot normally drive during what hours?
: 9pm and 5am
: 10pm and 5am
: 11pm and 5am
: Midnight & 5am
July 2, 2007:

Under normal circumstances, how close to a fire hydrant can you legally park?
: 5 feet
: 15 feet
: 25 feet
: 35 feet









Answers:








7/31/07: When was the first electric, 3-color, traffic signal first used? --



C: William Potts, a Detroit police officer, is credited with inventing the modern, three-way, traffic light in Detroit in 1920.




Back to the top


















7/30/07: When you breakdown on the freeway, which one of these things are you required to do? --



B: Your emergency lights are required to be flashing whenever your vehicle is disabled upon the roadway.

California Vehicle Code section: 25251 (b) Turn signal lamps shall be flashed as warning lights whenever a vehicle is disabled upon the roadway and the vehicle is equipped with a device to automatically activate the front turn signal lamps at each side to flash simultaneously and the rear turn signal lamps at each side to flash simultaneously, if the device and the turn signal lamps were not rendered inoperative by the event which caused the vehicle to be disabled.



Back to the top


















7/27/07: How long will your driving privilege be suspended for not taking the chemical test when arrested for DUI? --



C: According to the DMV: If you refused or failed to complete a blood or breath test, a first offense will result in a 1-year suspension.

According to the DMV "FAQ" website:
How long will my driving privilege be suspended for not taking the chemical test?

If you were 21 years of older at the time of arrest and you refused or failed to complete a blood or breath test, or (if applicable) a urine test:

A first offense will result in a 1-year suspension. A second offense within 10 years will result in a 2-year revocation. A third or subsequent offense within 10 years will result in a 3-year revocation.

If you were under 21 years of age at the time of being detained or arrested and you refused or failed to complete a PAS test or other chemical test:

A first offense will result in a 1-year suspension. A second offense within 10 years will result in a 2-year revocation. A third or subsequent offense within 10 years will result in a 3-year revocation.





Back to the top


















7/26/07: Most of us have seen those jacked-up trucks whose headlight shine right in our eyes. How high can headlights legally be above the ground? --



D: Headlights shall be located at a height of not more than 54 inches nor less than 22 inches.

California Vehicle Code section: 24400. (a) A motor vehicle, other than a motorcycle, shall be:
(1) Equipped with at least two headlamps, with at least one on each side of the front of the vehicle, and, except as to vehicles registered prior to January 1, 1930, they shall be located directly above or in advance of the front axle of the vehicle. The headlamps and every light source in any headlamp unit shall be located at a height of not more than 54 inches nor less than 22 inches.




Back to the top


















7/25/07: Some law enforcement agencies have stopped using 10-code phrases like 10-4. Why? --



A: There are many different versions of the codes. 10-13 in New York means an officer has an emergency. In California it is a request for a weather report.

Va. State Police Swap '10-4' For 'Message Understood'




Back to the top


















7/24/07: It is legal to make a U-turn on a residential street as long as all other vehicles are how far away? --



B: "No person in a residence district shall make a U-turn when any other vehicle is approaching from either direction within 200 feet.

California Vehicle Code section: 22103. No person in a residence district shall make a U-turn when any other vehicle is approaching from either direction within 200 feet, except at an intersection when the approaching vehicle is controlled by an official traffic control device.




Back to the top


















7/23/07: Riding a bicycle at night requires a headlight. To be legal, the headlight has to be bright enough to be seen from how far away? --



C: A headlight must illuminate the highway in front of the bicyclist and is visible from a distance of 300 feet in front and from the sides of the bicycle.

California Vehicle Code section: 21201. (a) No person shall operate a bicycle on a roadway unless it is equipped with a brake which will enable the operator to make one braked wheel skid on dry, level, clean pavement.
(b) No person shall operate on the highway any bicycle equipped with handlebars so raised that the operator must elevate his hands above the level of his shoulders in order to grasp the normal steering grip area.
(c) No person shall operate upon any highway a bicycle which is of such a size as to prevent the operator from safely stopping the bicycle, supporting it in an upright position with at least one foot on the ground, and restarting it in a safe manner.
(d) Every bicycle operated upon any highway during darkness shall be equipped (1) with a lamp emitting a white light which, while the bicycle is in motion, illuminates the highway in front of the bicyclist and is visible from a distance of 300 feet in front and from the sides of the bicycle; (2) with a red reflector on the rear which shall be visible from a distance of 500 feet to the rear when directly in front of lawful upper beams of headlamps on a motor vehicle; (3) with a white or yellow reflector on each pedal visible from the front and rear of the bicycle from a distance of 200 feet; and (4) with a white or yellow reflector on each side forward of the center of the bicycle, and with a white or red reflector on each side to the rear of the center of the bicycle, except that bicycles which are equipped with reflectorized tires on the front and the rear need not be equipped with these side reflectors. Such reflectors and reflectorized tires shall be of a type meeting requirements established by the department.
(e) A lamp or lamp combination, emitting a white light, attached to the operator and visible from a distance of 300 feet in front and from the sides of the bicycle, may be used in lieu of the lamp required by clause (1) of subdivision (d).




Back to the top

















7/20/07: How long can someone between 16 & 18 drive in California with an out-of-state license? --



C: Visitors between 16 and 18 years old may drive with their home state license or instruction permit for only 10 days after arriving in California.

From the DMV website: Minors Visiting California - Visitors between 16 and 18 years old may drive with their home state license or instruction permit for only 10 days after arriving in California. After the 10 days, they must have either a: California driver license, or Nonresident Minorís Certificate which is issued by DMV to a minor who has given proof of financial responsibility.




Back to the top


















7/19/07: Where does California rank among all states in the percentage of licensed drivers? --



D. According to the website Statemaster.com, California is ranked #46 with only 62.7% of Californians have a driver's license. Vermont is #1 at 87.2%. Texas and New York were at the bottom of the list at 59%.

Click here to see the entire list




Back to the top


















7/17/07: What is the legal status of Walk - Don't Walk signs at intersections? --

B: Until 1993, the Walk - Don't Walk signs were only advisory. Now they are legally binding.

California Vehicle Code section: 21456. Whenever a pedestrian control signal showing the words "WALK" or "WAIT" or "DONT WALK" or other approved symbol is in place, the signal shall indicate as follows:
(a) "WALK" or approved "Walking Person" symbol. A pedestrian facing the signal may proceed across the roadway in the direction of the signal, but shall yield the right-of-way to vehicles lawfully within the intersection at the time that signal is first shown.
(b) Flashing or steady "DONT WALK" or "WAIT" or approved "Upraised Hand" symbol. No pedestrian shall start to cross the roadway in the direction of the signal, but any pedestrian who has partially completed crossing shall proceed to a sidewalk or safety zone or otherwise leave the roadway while the "WAIT" or "DONT WALK" or approved "Upraised Hand" symbol is showing.

and

21456.1. Whenever an official traffic control signal exhibiting an approved "Walking Person" symbol, an approved "Upraised Hand" symbol, or the words "WALK" or "WAIT" or "DON'T WALK" is shown concurrently with official traffic control signals exhibiting the words "GO" or "CAUTION" or "STOP" or exhibiting different colored lights successively, one at a time or with arrows, a pedestrian facing those traffic control signals shall obey the "Walking Person," "Upraised Hand," "WALK" or "WAIT" or "DON'T WALK" control signal as provided in Section 21456.




Back to the top


















7/16/07: We have all seen the clear covers people put over their license plates. When is this legal? --

A: Anything that completely covers the license plate is illegal.

California Vehicle Code section: 5201 - (f) No covering may be used on license plates except as follows:
(1) The installation of a cover over a lawfully parked vehicle to protect it from the weather and the elements does not constitute a violation of this subdivision. Any peace officer or other regularly salaried employee of a public agency designated to enforce laws, including local ordinances, relating to the parking of vehicles may temporarily remove so much of the cover as is necessary to inspect any license plate, tab, or indicia of registration on a vehicle.
(2) The installation of a license plate security cover is not a violation of this subdivision if the device does not obstruct or impair the recognition of the license plate information, including, but not limited to, the issuing state, license plate number, and registration tabs, and the cover is limited to the area directly over the top of the registration tabs. No portion of a license plate security cover shall rest over the license plate number.
(g) No casing, shield, frame, border, or other device that obstructs or impairs the reading or recognition of a license plate by a remote emission sensing device, as specified in Sections 44081 and 44081.6 of the Health and Safety Code, shall be installed on, or affixed to, a vehicle.




Back to the top


















7/13/07: You are one a narrow mountain road and another vehicle approaches you head on. Who has to backup, the vehicle going uphill, or downhill? --



B: The vehicle going downhill must backup to a point where the vehicles can pass each other.

California Vehicle Code section: 21661. Whenever upon any grade the width of the roadway is insufficient to permit the passing of vehicles approaching from opposite directions at the point of meeting, the driver of the vehicle descending the grade shall yield the right-of-way to the vehicle ascending the grade and shall, if necessary, back his vehicle to a place in the highway where it is possible for the vehicles to pass.




Back to the top


















7/12/07: Do military personnel transfered into California need to register their vehicles in California? --



No: As long as their vehicle is in their name & registered in their "permanent home" state, or state of their last assignment, no California license plate is needed.

California Vehicle Code section: 6701. (a) Any nonresident owner of a vehicle registered in a foreign state who is a member or spouse of a member of the armed forces of the United States on active duty within this state, and any resident owner of a vehicle registered in a foreign state who is a member or spouse of a member of the armed forces of the United States returning from active duty in a foreign state, may operate the vehicle in this state without securing California registration after satisfying all of the following requirements: (1) The license plates displayed on the vehicle are valid plates issued by a foreign jurisdiction.
(2) The vehicle registration and license plates are issued to the military person or spouse of the military person.
(3) The vehicle registration and license plates were issued by the foreign jurisdiction where the military person was last regularly assigned and stationed for duty by military orders or a jurisdiction claimed by the nonresident military person as the permanent state of residence.
(4) If the vehicle is a motor vehicle, the owner or driver has in force one of the forms of financial responsibility specified in Section 16021.
(b) For purposes of paragraph (3) of subdivision (a), military orders do not include military orders for leave, for temporary duty, or for any other assignment of any nature requiring the military person's presence outside the foreign jurisdiction where the owner was regularly assigned and stationed for duty.
(c) This section applies to all vehicles owned by the military person or spouse except any commercial vehicle used in any business manner wherein the military person or spouse receives compensation.




Back to the top


















7/11/07: How long do you have to report to the DMV that you have moved? --



B: B. For both your Driver's License and vehicle registation, you have 10 days to report an address change to the DMV.

California Vehicle Code section: 4160. Any registered owner of a vehicle who moves or acquires a new address different from the address shown upon the registration card issued for the vehicle shall within 10 days mark out the former address shown on the face of the card and with pen and ink write or type the new address on the face of the card immediately below the former address with the initials of the registered owner.

and

14600. (a) Whenever any person after applying for or receiving a driver's license moves to a new residence, or acquires a new mailing address different from the address shown in the application or in the license as issued, he or she shall within 10 days thereafter notify the department of both the old and new address. The department may issue a document to accompany the driver's license reflecting the new address of the holder of the license.




Back to the top


















7/10/07: In most circumstances, you can legally turn right on a red light at an intersection. Can you ever turn left on a red light? --



C: A driver, after stopping, may turn left from a one-way street onto a one-way street.

California Vehicle Code section: 21453. (a) A driver facing a steady circular red signal alone shall stop at a marked limit line, but if none, before entering the crosswalk on the near side of the intersection or, if none, then before entering the intersection, and shall remain stopped until an indication to proceed is shown, except as provided in subdivision (b).
(b) Except when a sign is in place prohibiting a turn, a driver, after stopping as required by subdivision (a), facing a steady circular red signal, may turn right, or turn left from a one-way street onto a one-way street.




Back to the top


















7/09/07: Most people know that small children have to wear helmets when riding a bicycle. How how do you have to be before you can cycle without a helmet? --



D. Everyone under 18 is required to wear an approved helmet while on a bicycle.

California Vehicle Code section: 21212. (a) A person under 18 years of age shall not operate a bicycle, a nonmotorized scooter, or a skateboard, nor shall they wear in-line or roller skates, nor ride upon a bicycle, a nonmotorized scooter, or a skateboard as a passenger, upon a street, bikeway, as defined in Section 890.4 of the Streets and Highways Code, or any other public bicycle path or trail unless that person is wearing a properly fitted and fastened bicycle helmet that meets the standards of either the American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM) or the United States Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), or standards subsequently established by those entities.



Back to the top


















7/6/07: When is it legal to drive with just your parking lights on? --



A: It is never legal to drive with just your parking lights on.




Back to the top


















7/5/07: For minor traffic offenses, you get 1 point against your driving record. For major offenses, you get 2 points. How many points does it take to lose your license? --

All of the above. The driving privilege will be suspended by the DMV if you get the following number of points during the specificed time period:
4 points within 12 months
6 points within 24 months
8 points within 36 months

Click here for a long list of how many points each violation gets




Back to the top


















7/3/07: A new driver between 16 & 18 years old cannot normally drive during what hours? --



C: According to California Vehicle Code section 12814.6, teens who have had their driver's license less than one year may not drive between 11 p.m. and 5 a.m. unless the driver is accompanied by licensed driver age 25 or older. There may be exceptions for a job, school, a family need, or a medical emergency.




Back to the top


















7/2/07: Under normal circumstances, how close to a fire hydrant can you legally park? --



B: According to California Vehicle Code section # 22514, No person shall stop, park, or leave standing any vehicle within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.




Back to the top





















Google
 
Web americanindian.net


Return to Previous Website

Click Here To Return to My Main KUSI Page



since September 4, 2005